Upcoming Open Houses

Every year, Episcopal Service Corps hosts a number of Open Houses for potential Corps members to hear from current Corps and alumni about their Service Year, meet program directors, and ask questions.

Open Houses are upcoming on the following dates:

Wednesday, January 5, 8 pm Eastern/7 pm Central/6 pm Mountain/5 pm Pacific – Click here for detailsThursday, March 3, 7 pm Eastern/6 pm Central/5 pm Mountain/4 pm Pacific

Watch this website for more details about these upcoming events.

Open House for Young Adults Discerning a Service Year

Service. Prayer. Justice. Vocation. Community. Leadership.

These are the core values that shape and inform every aspect of a Service Year through Episcopal Service Corps. It’s these values that set us apart from other post-graduate options. And it’s these values that drive our Corps to engage the transformative power of a Service Year.

Are you a young leader 21-32 intrigued by the idea of devoting a year of your life to creating change in the world, and in yourself?

Join ESC for an online Open House on January 5 at 8 pm Eastern/7 pm Central/6 pm Mountain/5 pm Pacific.

During the hour participants will hear from current Corps members and alumni about what their Service Year meant to them. It’s also a time to ask questions about the application and discernment process.

Know someone who might be discerning an ESC Year? Forward a link to this event to them with an invitation to participate.

Register using the form below:

Guide to Applying for an ESC Service Year

Every year, young adults from 21 to 32 are invited to apply to serve as a member of Episcopal Service Corps (ESC) for the upcoming service year. Understanding that applying can feel a bit overwhelming, this article is intended to help potential applicants understand the process.

Johnson Service Corps: Celebrating 20 Years

Johnson Service Corps (JSC) started over 20 years ago as a ministry at Chapel of the Cross Episcopal Church in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. JSC’s namesake, Margaret Johnson, a longtime Chapel of the Cross parishioner, was passionate about young adults and spiritual formation. After she passed away, Johnson left funds to the church. Following a lengthy discernment to find the best use for money, in 1999, the Johnson Intern Program, JSC’s predecessor, was formed.

Why Serve through ESC

Giving of yourself for the benefit of others is quite possibly the most rewarding thing a person can do with their time on Earth. No one benefits from a wholly isolated, insular life devoid of giving back. Whether a person is religious or not, helping others can be one of the most positive life choices that one can make.

Are you Called to Serve?

ESC is now recruiting for the 2021-2022 Service Year. In this video, Episcopal Church Presiding Bishop Michael B. Curry invites young adults 21-32 to discern if they are called to serve.

Inspired by Pauli Murray

Program directors and staff were deeply moved by this icon’s legacy and were inspired to dedicate at least a portion of 2020-2021 ESC formation activities to learning more about Pauli Murray and the ways that Murray’s story inspires us to leadership and activism.

Introducing Wyoming Service Corps

A program of Christ Episcopal Church, Cody, and a Fresh Expression of the Diocese of Wyoming, WSC will offer Corps members a contemplative environment in which to discern their greater place in the world as well as opportunities to explore the extraordinary natural and social world around them.

Quarantation 2020

Responding to local conditions, a number of ESC’s 14 network programs quarantined in their house while others went off-site to a nearby camp or conference center where Corps members could remain physically distant during a quarantine period and gather safely outside, as appropriate.

On Service

Of all the multifaceted ways of living throughout this year, by discerning the call of God and developing a discipline of prayer, while living in community, I have experienced that service is a natural outpouring of these ways of living.

What values are driving your work?

Circle of the Beloved welcomed me warmly and wrapped me up in their community from day one. If it wasn’t for Circle, I would have been floundering about to find community as the only Visitation intern this year. Whether it is sharing meals or participating in Sunday compline, we are working together to foster authentic community at Liberty House.

On Community

Community was a key component of my return to the Christian faith. The recognition of need for a nourishing, rooted faith community led to my eventual stumbling into an Episcopal church.

Joining The Viewpoints

I decided to cobble this interview together from different service corps members in the spirit of joining our different yet similar experiences during the quarantine. Hence the title of this interview series “Joining The Viewpoints”.

On Prayer

I am still, in all honesty, quite new to the discipline of regular prayer and I feel a bit out of my element writing this post. For much of my life my presence in prayer was tightly tied to feeling.

Video greeting from Bishop Curry

The Most Rev. Michael Bruce Curry, Presiding Bishop and Primate of The Episcopal Church, sends his greetings and gratitude for Corps members serving during the current outbreak of COVID-19.

On the Call of God

In contemplating the call of God, I see two aspects. First, that a call must have voice, therefore God speaks. Second, that creation must respond.